top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteve

Lighting for Black and White Part 6: Back on Black

For this shoot I went back to the black background. I realize it is personal preference, but I just find black and whites look better on black. I went with a simple two light setup. You can see the setup and camera settings below. It is always difficult to get the Rogue 3in1 grid setup properly when doing a self-portrait. I am looking forward to trying this with a model when the lockdown is lifted.





Below is the straight out of camera image and the edited version. This was converted to black and white in Photoshop. I punched up the eyes a little and did a little dodging and burning.





I like the tones and contrast that this particular lighting setup produces. This was converted to black and white in Photoshop. I punched up the eyes a little and did a little dodging and burning.

6 views0 comments
bottom of page