top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteve

Lighting for Black and White Part 4: Shooting on White

For Part 4,

I decided to shoot on a white background to see the effect on black and white. One of the things that I like about black and white is the range of contrast that can be achieved in the photo. I usually shoot all my black and whites on a black background. I like the grittiness and the mood that can be achieved. For this shot I used two lights. One main and one light to light the white background. To get the pure white background I used Photoshop. Below you can see the setup and the camera settings.




The one light was feathered. I wanted to have shadows on the face to increase contrast. Below is the straight out of camera coloured version and then the black and white conversion.




Below is the black and white version. The mood is very different from a shot on a black background.




8 views0 comments
bottom of page