top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteve

Lighting for Black and White

Updated: May 11, 2020

Starting a new project this week. I want to create some black and white self-portraits with different lighting setups and different backgrounds. I will be checking out some black and white conversion techniques and will let you know how they turn out. My first photo was done using three lights.

Below you will find the the colour version straight out of camera and then the black and white conversion. I did the conversion in Photoshop. I will talk about conversion techniques and my general editing workflow as this project progresses.



I liked the final effect of this particular lighting setup. It provided nice contrast and shadows and almost Rembrandt lighting. The reflector allowed me to get lighting under the chin which was missing without the reflector. The background light and the rim light provide separation from the background.




11 views0 comments
bottom of page